Lagos Assembly Rejects 17 Sanwo-Olu’s Nominees, Confirms 22


The Lagos State House of Assembly on Wednesday, August 23rd, 2023 confirmed 22 out of the 39 cabinet nominees sent recently by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening.

Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over the day’s sitting, said the confirmation followed rigorous and detailed screening of the nominees by a ad-hoc committee led by the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed.

He commended the committee for its effectiveness and urged the confirmed nominees to always remember that they are in office to serve the people of the State and not individuals.

He also promised that the House would continue to do its best in the interest of the State.

The confirmation was done through a voice vote as Dr. Obasa mentioned the name of each of the nominees.

However, the lawmakers rejected 17 of the nominees.

Those confirmed include:

  1. Hon. Layode Ibrahim
  2. Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende
  3. Dr. Dolapo Fasawe
  4. Hon. Bola Olumegbon
  5. Mr. Idris Aregbe
  6. Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya
  7. Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai
  8. Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts
  9. Engr. Abiola Olowu
  10. Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka
  11. Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya
  12. Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu
  13. Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN
  14. Mr. Tunbosun Alake
  15. Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde
  16. Dr. Adekunle Olayinka
  17. Dr. Jide Babatunde
  18. Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo
  19. Mr. Tokunbo Wahab
  20. Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu
  21. Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun
  22. Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo
READ  We Will Miss Ekiti Speaker, Afuye - Obasa

Those not confirmed by the House include:

  1. Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo
  2. Prof. Akin Abayomi
  3. Mr. Yomi Oluyomi
  4. Mrs. Folashade Ambrose
  5. Ms. Barakat Bakare
  6. Mr. Gbenga Omotosho
  7. Engr. Olalere Odusote;
  8. Dr. Rotimi Fashola
  9. Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada
  10. Mr. Sam Egube;
  11. Mr. Olalekan Fatodu
  12. Mrs. Solape Hammond
  13. Mr. Mosopefolu George
  14. Engr. Aramide Adeyoye
  15. Mr. Seun Osiyemi
  16. Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi
  17. Dr. Olumide Oluyinka

Before the exercise, Hon Mojeed Fatai briefed the House on the outcome of the screening exercise.

Leave a Reply